Undaunted

We Texans are a different breed. We hibernate during the summer, and only start shaking it off around mid-September when the temperatures drop.

I love this time of year – it’s easier to imagine starting a garden when temperatures finally hover around the 80s and 90s. Sure, the planting season is pretty much over. But that doesn’t mean I can’t start planning for spring!

I’ve lived in my first House With A Yard for almost 4 years now, with very little to show for my gardening efforts. Granted, the yard has a slightly higher Grass-to-Weed ratio than when we first moved in, so that’s nice. And the Rose Bush I planted hasn’t died. (Win!). But my Hydrangea is the same size as she was 3 years ago (??!?), my beds are full of weeds, and I killed the container garden my wife tried to cheer me up with. That wasn’t awesome.

But! I remain undaunted! …because with every spectacular failure comes a little more insight. If I keep at it, I figure I’ll be a veritable trove of botanical knowledge in no time!

Leave a Reply

