August Break 2014

I follow a lovely London blogger by the name of Susannah Connway – I just love her writing. She is so uplifting, and her joie de vevre is absolutely infectious!

She recently talked about how hard it can be to come up with content, week after week – and how easy it is to burn-out. So one year, instead of falling off the face of the map for a break, she started challenging herself to post only photographs for the month of August. She found she really liked the change of pace, and thus a tradition was born! This year she invited her readers to participate, and posted a list of daily photo prompts. She even created a flickr group just for the occasion.

image

I loved how Relaxed she made it feel – if you post even once, that’s ok. The whole idea is to remove the pressure from Blogging, and to look at the world through a different lens along the way. (see what I did there??)

I’m joining for slightly different reasons, though. In case you hadn’t noticed, my blog is leetle, and new. One of my personal goals has been to start something, and follow through – even on the days when it’s hard to muster much more than a “Hello, again….”. So I don’t feel that taking a Vacation from Writing is really the best idea for me right now….

But learning to relax and just play with an art medium that I’m not used to is.

Starting a business from a passion of mine has been a wonderful experience, but it can also be quite draining. Dumbledore once said “I make mistakes like the next man. In fact, being –forgive me– rather cleverer than most men, my mistakes tend to be correspondingly huger.” So it is with self-employment. Because I am playing with my whole heart, the stakes are so much higher … and the payoffs much sweeter.

I’ve started taking a few photos, and I will be posting them here, as well as in the August Break Flickr Group. I must say, I have loved staging photos, finding great angles, and fiddling with a few photo editing apps.

If you feel inspired to join in, sign up over here! If not, you can peruse the great content on the Flickr Group, and I hope you enjoy the additional content on here this month.

Ciao, bellas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

