my Jam du Jour

I have to come clean about something – a secret that has poisoned my heart for years. I hope you’ll love me just the same, after you hear it…

Hello, my name is Kathryn, and I lie about having diverse musical tastes. Wait, wait, before you go, let me ‘splain! My tastes are diverse! They are. It’s just that, in execution, my listening tends to be … distilled? Let me put it this way: I’m a lot like my 3-year-old neice who has watched The Little Mermaid more times than there are days in her life. (Her movie-watching stamina is truly inspiring).

I have no problem listening to the same side of my Joni Mitchell LP six million times in a day, while I work in my office. I like to tell people it’s because I’m lazy, or so preoccupied by my Craft du Jour that I can’t be bothered… but see, that’s a lie. I just really really like to marinate in the music I love.

I hope you understand, I couldn’t live this lie anymore. I just had to come clean.

image

Now that that’s Oust the Way, I have to say… OMG, I heart Ani DiFranco. Her lyrics fire up my Bohemian soul and punch me square in the gut, and still I beg for more. As a musician myself, I always admire when an artist bravely shakes up the uspoken Musical Mores that so many aren’t creative enough to take on. Her lyrics don’t have to rhyme, because Fuck Rhymes. Her delivery doesn’t have to be melodic, because sometimes it’s more powerful to emote. I love Joni Mitchell, Regina Spektor, and Amanda Palmer for the same reasons. I’ve always felt it’s called “Playing Music” for a reason – and these Bitchin’ Broads rock that mantra Hardcore.

A few sleepless nights ago, I wormed my way through YouTube’s Ani discography, and found a song I hadn’t heard before. Isn’t it funny how sometimes after experiencing A Thing, you suddenly can’t understand how you’ve survived without it? That’s “Joyful Girl” for me. There’s something so compelling about the lyrics, how such a sweet song presented in a minor key spoke to my heart.

Ani diFranco – Joyful Girl

I have a Thinky brain – nothing in my life is ever simple. I’ve finally found ways to work with this, to work around the bad days this Brain o’ Mine can create… and I’ve come a long way, because now I remind myself of everything this song so eloquently puts…

and i wonder if everything i do
i do instead
of something i want to do more
the question fills my head
i know that there’s no grand plan here
this is just the way it goes
and when everything else seems unclear
i guess at least i know

i do it for the joy it brings…

Give it a listen. I hope you enjoy the Jam, that maybe it speaks to you, too. And after you give it a whirl, share your Heartsong in the comments for me, too. I would love to hear your current Soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

