On the Importance of Taking Time for yourself

I can’t tell you how many times I stop myself from doing something because it won’t last. Putting on makeup seems like an exercise in futility, since I’m just going to scrub off the war paint in 8 hours anyway (and that’s only if I don’t accidentally forget there’s crap on my eyelashes and rub my eyes. Looking like a raccoon somehow ruins the effect). Dying my hair means that my grey roots will be that much more obvious against the lush Chestnut of my lies-in-a-box hair dye. And what about dishes?? There’s more…. there’s always more…

So when it comes to painting my nails, I’ve rarely let myself dabble. 21 years playing violin and viola means I keep my nails way-short. Days spent digging in the garden, or hand crafting and painting means that polish chips in a matter of hours. I don’t care how much you love me, no one needs to see my stubby, horrendously chipped manicure.

So I was surprised when, after years of abstinence, I discovered that I love painting my nails. What it boils down to is this:

Screw what anyone else thinks – I like to look at it (for the 23 hours that it lasts). And I’ve started getting pretty good at making designs and doodles with it, too.

But most of all, it’s really nice to give myself a mental break for a few hours. Creating a business out of what was once a hobby has been So Wonderful, but what are you supposed to do as an outlet when your job stresses you out?

Yeah, that one sucked for a while.

So. Since this is my blog and being serious all the time does awesome things to your psyche (but not really), I’m going to post pictures of my nail art from time to time.

image

Call it artist’s perogative. Call it inane drivel. Call it what you like – I call it creating a record for posterity before the ravages of time erase my Nail Art Creations from everything but my memory.

(…I also call that a bit melodramatic).

Leave a Reply

